top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePoojitha Swaminathan

Phantasm vs. Verity

~my perfect world


I woke up, as the first light broke into my room, through the finely knitted curtains, revealing the dust particles chasing each other, racing and bombarding around in its amber glow.

I woke up to what felt too unusual to be a dream but too real and good to ever leave!


A world where the Weasley's could actually afford to have a fine meal without spending their life-time of earnings, and their children could actually enjoy the feeling of owning new books, which haven't been used over the generations and passed down, all worn and torn.


A world where George Floyd and Breonna Taylor weren't killed in cold blood merely due to the coloration of their skin. In simple words, were respected for the humans they were and were not shot and chocked to death because of the melanin.


A world where Katniss Everdeen would not have to volunteer herself in the place of her sister, even knowing, all she would do it take one more step closer to her death!

Only based off the fact, she would have to kill twenty-three others of her kind (poor) to earn food for her family and to entertain the rich.


A world where people would not fear stepping out of the closet or being shunned by others, only because of the oxytocin in their body, which made them fall in love!


After a point of time, it all got too unreal but all I wanted was to stay in that world forever.


But like always, everything was too good to be real and for the last time, I actually woke up.

In a world, yes, but not the 'perfect world', my imagination.

My eyes opened into the everlasting darkness also called my home, where I lived with a few other companions, altogether called rats.

I scrambled up from my bed, my stomach rumbling and my body screaming from all the agony, only to re-enter the coal mines, to work day and night, so our master could enjoy his champagne and white wine; only hoping the needle would strike 'nine' on the big clock, and the loud bang which would indicate us to go home, back to my bed and imagination ~ "my perfect world!"


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page